Travel Log: Day 3: City Exploration, Seoul, South Korea

Whenever I think that possibilities are endless I felt I was in cloud nine, dreaming again about everything in life.

May 13, 2019

As my normal day in traveling, I wake up very early knowing the fact that the place that I will be visiting is quite far from yesterday. This is Suwon which is south of Seoul from the place I’m staying I need to ride a subway going to Seoul station then transfer to another train going to Suwon. It was a tiring and a remarkable day to remember.

After preparing my personal travel gears. I immediately went out and started the trip towards Suwon. The ride was nice even though I was lost at that time confuse whether I ride the correct train or not. There is an instance that I went out of the Train to check if the line that I took was the correct one.

Overall the experience was very pleasing the outside temperature was cold. Upon exiting the Subway, I look for the bus stop which is just a step away from the exit. I waited for minutes waiting for the right bus number going to the Fortress. Upon entering the bus I tap my T-Money Card on the fare machine and find a seat.

There were a lot of cars on the street after minutes of looking at the surroundings around I finally saw the roundabout which is one of the gates of the fortress. And finally, I was at ease knowing that the route of the bus is correct. After arriving at the nearest bus stop in the roundabout I went out and walk around. Look on my mobile map and look for the nearest entrance to the park. The entrance fee is KRW 1,000.00. The lady on the Ticket Kiosk will give you a sticker and a map of the park. You should put the sticker on your t-shirt so the guards can know that you paid the entrance fee.

After paying the entrance fee I went inside, walk along the walls of the fortress. It was a steep climb. And the place was very huge. I just planned to explore haft of the place exiting on the riverside of the fortification because I still have the plan to go to Jomyo Shrine later in the afternoon to join a tour.

From Paldalmun Gate, I walked towards Seonamun Gate then went outside to Seonamilchel Bastion took some photos then went inside again. I walked towards the Seonjangdai Command Post passing the Hyowons Bell and some gates and upon reaching the Command post which has a nice view of the whole fortress and surroundings I took some time had some rest and took a lot of photos and videos.

After minutes of rest, I walked downward going to Hwasemun Gate with the Observation Tower nearby. It was a lovely walked the weather was good even though it was a bit cold but still bearable. I really enjoy the simple hike along the fortress walls, the place is not crowded with people only you the walls and the trees around. Upon reaching the Hwahongmun Gate, which is the Water Gate of the Fortress, I walked along the river going to the Fried Chicken District of the Area to have lunch.

After looking for a place to have lunch I went Inside and ordered a whole Fried Chicken which is good for a family, After doing some sign language skills and pay my ordered I was seated nearby which is beside a window and waited for fried chicken.

The Fried Chicken is a whole chicken that will be cut into pieces in front of you. It has some sides and dippings. The food was good but not what I’m expecting to be. After finishing my lunch I went outside and look for a bus stop that will go back to the Train Station going back to Seoul.

While waiting and looking for the bus I walked around and went to the square of the Town which is facing some old reconstructed buildings of Haenggun. I walked around but did not enter the building due to time constraints and you still need to pay the entrance fee.

I walked and went back to where the bus drops me off and waited for the bus that goes back to the Train Station. After riding the bus and paying my ticket I waited for the Train then on the train I found a seat and had a simple nap.

I did not remember anything about the train ride but only know that I exited at the right station and transfer on the right train that goes to the nearest station in Jomyo Shrine Area.

It was already afternoon when I arrived in Seoul and still have ample time exploring the area while waiting for the Guided Tour. The Tour started on time, the Guide first explains the history of the place and the guidelines on visiting this sacred place.

 

One response to “Travel Log: Day 3: City Exploration, Seoul, South Korea

  1. Pingback: Photo Diary: World Heritage Sites in Seoul, South Korea | Viajero·

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.