Travel Log: A Day Exploration in Singapore

After visiting Kuala Lumpur my fourth stop was the City-State Nation of Singapore, Located at the tip of the Malaysian Peninsula bordered by Malaysia in the North and Indonesian Islands in the south. For this trip, I just planned to do an In-Transit tour of this Island. I just planned to visit the sites around the downtown Area from China Town to Esplanade then a side trip to the Sole UNESCO World Heritage of the Country.

I arrived in the afternoon via Jetstar Airlines and arrived in Terminal 2 of Changi International Airport. The airport was very huge and the floor is covered with carpet sort of.  I was lost with the madness of people inside the terminal finding my way to the exit going to the immigration. After stamping my passport, I immediately look for a place to left my bag and just bring the essentials and important stuffs that I had. Then I went to find the way to go to the Subway Train that will bring me to the downtown of the city.

I bought the 24 Hour Subway Card that will give me unlimited pass for 24 hours in all Subway lines and selected bus lines across the Island. It was my first-hand experience of what Singapore is.  The Train was spacious and it’s very accessible. Some parts of the line are elevated and then go underground. The Tall Buildings and the clean streets really impress me. How modern this City and how they maintained it very orderly was amazing.

After a long travel time from the airport, I finally arrived at the City Hall Station where my journey started. at first, I explore some colonial-era buildings and how it blended with the modern high skyscraper buildings on the other side of the river where the financial district is located. Then after walking and roaming and lost again I looked to my map and find the train station line that will bring me to Chinatown which is my second stop.  I had my lunch at a fast-food chain near the place. I was awed that even senior citizen is still working.

The Chinatown was very vibrant with its colorful facade of the buildings and lanterns hanging above the streets and the crowds of tourists scattered around enjoying alfresco dining and buying souvenirs. I bought a ref magnet as a souvenir which is a merlion which became the symbol of Singapore.

After exploring Chinatown I walked toward Clark Quay area, Then walked along the riverside until I reach the Colonial Building of Fullerton Hotel and the Merlion Park where I admired the modern seascape, Facing the Marina Bay Sands. Before the Sunset, I decided to see the Philatelic Museum of Singapore where I send a postcard and buy a stamp Album and Postcards for my collection. Then I ride the subway again and went to the farthest place I been which is the Singapore Botanical Garden.

Its Sunday at that time a lot of people are hanging out in the big open spaces of the park. I just explore some spots around the lake area where I found some black Swan before heading back to the Merlion Park and then went to Gardens by the Bay. Entering the premises of the Garden is Free, so with this I just explore the grounds facinated by the different plants and trees, the outside sculpture around the park.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.