Travel Log: Day 0: City Exploration, Osaka, Japan

I wake up very early knowing that my flight is at 9:30AM via Jin Air, a local passenger Airline is based in Incheon Airport.

After final packing and preparation I check-out in my hostel left my card in the Front Desk and went to the subway. I ride a train that stops in the Seoul Station where there is an Airport Express train that departs every 30 minutes going to Incheon.

I bought my fare online and use the vending machine or ticketing machine to get my actual ticket.  After getting the card I proceed to the security, ride an elevator that brought me to the flatform, the Terminal for Airport Express Train was huge it has Check-In Counter for some airlines.

At the Platform, I went inside the Train on the Platform, knowing that it was the Train that will take mo to the Airport. After 10 minutes of waiting the train doors close and my journey to the Airport Started. The view is dark outside my window seat until we reach the outskirts of the city where the rail tracks are elevated. You can see the highrise building of Seoul from afar and the layback view of the countryside, the shoreline. Because Incheon Airport is located on an Island.

I arrived at the Airport enough to do the check-in and security procedures. From the Train Platform, I followed the Signeges toward the exit that leads me to the departure area of the airport. I look for the Information Board to find the Check-In counter of JIn Air.

I had to queue for a bit and, then I give my passport and printed ticket Voucher and also my ticket going back to Manila.  Then the lady gives it back with my Boarding Pass and, I’m off to go to the immigration and final security.

At the Immigration the Officer Scanned my passport no question asked. I’m just quite sad that they no longer stamped the passport upon exiting like in Singapore.

From the Immigration Counter and final Security, I walked towards the exit and finally I’m in the transit area looking for my gate and done some sightseeing around while walking. The terminal was huge and a lot of walkator.

After finding my Gate, I find a seat to lounge and kill my time waiting for the Boarding time. I buy some snacks in a outlet nearby. And while waiting it gives me goosebump that finally I check another country in the World and another is to come.

During my waiting I check the location of the Hostel that I will be staying in Osaka for 3 Nights, Just to prevent me from getting lost.

Then the Ground Crew went to the Gate entrance and announce the boarding procedures and finally I was seated inside the Plane and it was amazing. I was seated in the Aisle Seat but then the Women on the Window seat transferred to another place, so I d, decided to move on the Window and the whole row was occupied by me. I brought out my GoPro and recorded the taxing of the Aircraft. We are expecting to Arrived at Kansai Airport at about 1 PM in the Afternoon.

It was a sunny day but a bit of cloudy as I looked outside from my Window. After a few hours of waiting finally I can see the Landscape of Japan with its rugged mountain and large cities that you can see from above. I also see big bridges that crosses the Sea that connects Islands. It was an aerial tour for me. And finally, we landed in Kansai International Airport, which is located on an Artificial Island which serves the Kansai Region.

From the Plane we walked towards the Satellite terminal where we need to ride a train that goes directly to the Main Terminal where the Immigration and transport Hub is located.

In the Immigration Area was very fascinating, because you need to do some pre-Immigration checks with a machine and then a receipt will come out before you can queue to the Officer which will check your documents and stamped your passport. And for the first time, this was my first time experience that an officer asked me so much such as What the Purpose of my travel, How long will I stay, What Places I will be visiting  among others. It took some time, and I was,s losing hope that time but fina, lately, she stamped my passport and finally I was walking toward the exit and final security.

In the Final Security I also had an encounter where the Lady checks my bag and asked questions also such as what’s my job and How Long I will stay in Japan. I answered her promptly and had some nice chitchats with her because she was nice. After checking and opening my bag, I went Outside find the booth where I will exchange my voucher for a ticket and other things. the terminal is not wide but had a lot of levels. After finding the counter, I exchange some of my Cash to Japanese Yen then look for a map that leads me to the train/Transportation Hub of the Airport.

Most of my transportation essentials are prepaid already. With this, the only thing I do is to Exchange my vouchers to obtain the Ticket. After getting my ticket in the Terminal Office. I went inside the entrance of the Train Station, The inserted the ticket in the Machine and upon exit I get the Stub with a hole, informing me that the Ticket is already use.

I walked down the stairs because the platform is located in the lower level of the Terminal. In the platform, I waited for a while because my train going to Kansai/Namba Station hasn’t arrived yet and when it arrived Train was pretty cool because of its modern vibe or would I say futuristic look. The Colour of the train was dark blue with circle windows.

I’m still amazed that finally I’m in Japan the land of Anime’s and also I was in Kansai Region the cultural and historical centre of Japan. those are my thoughts as I the train runs and passes the Skyline of Japan that I always see in the Anime or Japanese Drama that I’m watching since I was a kid. I can only say that the streets are very clean and the country is really modern far from what I used to see.

At the Namba Station where the train arrived, I was lost finally because it was a huge and a lot of people going in different directions I was overwhelmed. But I just followed my instincts and find out the way that leads me to the Subway. And in the Subway, while I was looking in the Train Chart near the ticket vending machine a helpful lady approached me and assist me finding the train station that will lead me to my hostel. I provided me with a map of the train stations and it was a pleasant experience being helped.

From the Namba Subway Station, I used my Osaka Pass a transportation Pass that gives me 24 Hr unlimited fare in Osaka Owned Subway and buses. Then I transferred to another station before arriving at the nearest station to my hostel.

Upon exiting the station, I went looking for an exit and check my mobile phone. from there I walked straight and  turned left and then turned right cross the Street and finally I was on my hostel. I ring the bell went Inside and paid my Accommodation, the Front desk was nice, he discussed every do’s and don’ts and then he provided my, keys and finally I walked around then went in an elevator because the Room was located on the 3rd Floor of the building and I would say it was one of the best accommodation I ever had since I started to travel overseas.

The room was nice, I was on the Upper Bunk Bed, the common area was big. The Comfort Room and Shower Room was clean and very chic. After familiarizing my self and rested for a while re-charge my drained batteries. I had a shower before exploring some sights in the afternoon.

I had a good experience in the shower cubicle because it was my first time seeing how its organize, their is a clothes rack where you put your clothing and the shower area where you will close it so your clothes and towel will not be drentch in water while you were showering.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.