Travel Log: Way to Hostel in New Delhi, India

It still amazes me how modern and cleans the Airport Rail was. I ride one of the Trains that goes directly to downtown the City, where I need to exit and transfer to the Metro.

The Metro Lines are comprehensive; the network goes in different sections of the city. The Ride from the Airport was very relaxed and fantastic. The first segment of the tracks are underground, and it goes toward the elevated where finally I can see the view of the countryside.

While looking at my window, I observed that the Sky is not clear because it’s much of a hue of dirty brown. And the Smog still covers some of the areas. But I still appreaciate the experience and am happy that I’m in India doing my Golden Triangle route of New Delhi – Agra – Jaipur.

My initial plan for the morning after locating my Hostel and checking-in is to go back downtown to book and buy train tickets for My Travel in the coming days.

I arrived at New Delhi Station. Because I didn’t know anything about the exit and entrances toward the Metro, I went outside the Station.

I look at my mobile map and find the entrance toward the Metro Station. It was pretty confusing; there were many people around, some were approaching me, and I shoved them off and just being nice finding my way. Then finally reached the Station where I bought my ticket via Vending Machine and then Located my destination.

The Hostel is quite far from the Station because I still need to transfer to another train before reaching it. It was a journey that tested my knowledge and confidence, whether I’m lost or just tired due to a sleep-deprived day. But my excitement fueled me for the day after minutes and checking the train map and my mobile map whether I was on the correct train.

I reached my destination quite promising in my mind, and then I went to the exit, and it was another different world; there were a lot of people, animals, vehicles on the Street that went in other directions. And the journey to my Hostel was very adventurous at that point, and with this, I just checked my map and followed it until I reached the end of a small alleyway and finally I was lost. Until I traced back and got to the main road, I finally found it, and it’s very hidden in plain sight after some turns.

A man was guarding the entrance, and then I approached him and asked if this was the Hostel and I looked for the signage, which is not visible, and I’m checking in. He opened the Door, and I entered inside; the lobby is on the 3rd floor of the building, so with this, I climbed the stairs until reaching the entrance where travellers congregate sharing stories and others are waiting for the Check-In.

The atmosphere was great, and the writings were on the wall of travellers worldwide who have been in India. I noticed some notes from travellers from the Philippines, which was quite lovely knowing some “Kababayan” have been in this place.

I approached the guy who operates the counter, which is also doing the Check-In process. I waited for a while before he entertained me; I paid for my Accommodation and finalized my check-in. I’ll be staying here for Two Nights and hoping for a fun stay. My bed was on the lower bunk and near the Door next to the lobby; it was sometimes noisy, but it’s okay as part of the hostel experience.

After settling down, I decided to go to my plan to visit the Railway Station to book and buy my Tickets. I never imagine that the Work hours in India starts at 9 AM.

And for me, as my first Impression in India, most of the people who did the business and managed it were Man, and there were a lot of peddlers around, and one pleasant thing that I saw was that you could buy books by the road.

Buying Railway Ticket Travel Log will be on a separate blog post because I purchased my ticket first before going to my Hostel.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.