Travel Log: To Railway Station,New Delhi, India

After arriving at New Delhi Train station, I went to the Train Station, a long walk from the exit. Luckily I was able to find the way by following the people carrying heavy luggage, etc.

At first, I went to the nearby Building thinking it was the central station, but unfortunately, it was not. I suppose the Building is just a resting area for the people waiting for their train or a sleeping area for the homeless.

So with this, I went outside and looked around, then looked at my map and saw that I should cross the railroad to reach the main building where the Offices were.

I look around again and see a crossing bridge with people crossing it, carrying their personal belongings. So with this, I followed them and climbed the pedestrian bridge until reaching the other side; it was a long bridge, and there was security checking if you had a ticket. Which makes me nervous at that time, knowing that I dont have any access, and they make other people stop to check.

But luckily, I was not stopped and reached the other side safely. The Lobby of the building was huge, with murals on the walls depicting different people and places in India. I checked my map and read a blog showing the direction toward the ticket office, located on the 3rd Floor.
The Building is quite old already and quite scary.

But still, I was able to find my way toward the Office. The Office was quite big but only a few employees. There is already a line of foreigners and locals booking their tickets. Two people are operating the counter, which is just a table typical in an office setting.

It was a long wait, and some of the foreigners were already complaining that they had been here for quite a long time and why other people inside did not entertain them.

It is quite a spectacle for me to see foreigners complaining about how is everything done in Asia. However, the Lady in the Office just told the foreigner that this is India, which is a reasonable explanation for everything.

While waiting for my turn, I started to fill out the Booking Request Form, where you will put the details of your desired travel dates and time, which will be given to the ticket counter, so she will see if there is an available slot.

After waiting for about 20 minutes, I walked to the table in front of me and gave my booking request form. The Lady was friendly and very accomodating. She offered me options when my 1st Option was unavailable. Then I give my Passport for personal details. I was happy to know that they accept credit cards as payment, and I’m very grateful for it.

I noticed and was amazed that they are using the DOS-Base interface for their System.

Then I finally booked my Train Tickets to Agra and Jaipur. The Lady give me the receipt and my ticket for the trip. And I went out of the Office, tracing my way back to the Metro Station on the Other side of the railroad.

Going back was another experience because it was a long walk toward the pedestrian bridge, and many people were entering. There was an X-ray Scanner where I put my bag in the security, and it was a huge one. I can say that this was one of its kind I had seen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.