Cuyo, Palawan : The land of Sandapal

Cuyo Island, is composed of two municipalities, Cuyo and Magsaysay. People on this Island speaks a local dialect known as Cuyunon. The official Language of Palawan. Cuyo Island once serve as the capital of Palawan during Spanish Era. Now Cuyo serves as major port bound for Iloilo from Puerto Princesa vis-a-vis and a tourist site.

My first knowledge about this Island as I remember is in High School when I read a book about the different municipalities of Palawan. But my profound knowledge is in College when we study about a local Palawan epic of Sandapal. Sandapal is a story of a small man who traveled around Cuyo with his mystical powers.

The Ship arrived at the port of Cuyo around 09:00 am. And I already prepared my things in my tour of Cuyo. I left my bag on the Ship.

As I step out of the ship. I was mesmerized by the beauty of Cuyo. Beside the port is a long stretch of fine sand of Capusan Beach. I walk towards the main street of the town which is Rizal Street, going to the fort Church of San Augustin. The Cuyo Town proper is dotted with small ancestral houses that I think dates back to Spanish and Post War Eras. Along Rizal Street stood an imposing Municipal Hall of Cuyo with the monument of President Magsaysay.

I walk towards the main street of the town which is Rizal Street, going to the fort Church of San Augustin. The Cuyo Town proper is dotted with small ancestral houses that I think dates back to Spanish and Post War Eras. Along Rizal Street stood an imposing Municipal Hall of Cuyo with the monument of President Magsaysay.

Other local landmarks along Rizal Street  are Cuyo Municipal Hall, Cuyo Post Office, PSU – PCAT, San Agustin Church, Municipal Gym, Rizal Park, etc.

I offered a prayer inside the Church of San Agustin, took some pictures then went outside preparing for my Magsaysay Trip.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.